### **WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE**

**REGULAR SESSION, 1986** 

# ENROLLED

HOUSE BILL No. 1128

(By M. Del Love + Del Mastrantoni)

### **ENROLLED**

## H. B. 1128

(By Delegate Love and Delegate Mastrantoni)

[Passed February 18, 1986; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections five and six, article twenty-four, chapter eight of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, relating to municipal planning commission membership requirements; county planning commission membership requirements.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That sections five and six, article twenty-four, chapter eight of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

#### ARTICLE 24. PLANNING AND ZONING.

### §8-24-5. Municipal planning commission generally.

- 1 A municipal planning commission shall consist of not 2 less than five nor more than fifteen individuals, the exact number to be specified in the ordinance creating 4 such commission, all of whom shall be freeholders and 5 residents of the municipality, who shall be qualified by 6 knowledge and experience in matters pertaining to the 7 development of the muncipality, who shall include 8 representatives of business, industry and labor, and who shall be nominated by the administrative authority and 9 10 confirmed by the governing body of the municipality or appointed by the governing body where the administra-11
- 12 tive authority and governing body are the same. At least

13 three fifths of all of the members must have been 14 residents of the municipality for at least one year prior 15 to nomination and confirmation or appointment. One member of the commission shall also be a member of 16 17 the governing body of the municipality and one member 18 shall also be a member of the administrative depart-19 ment of the municipality, the term of these two 20 members to be coextensive with the term of office to 21 which they have been elected or appointed, unless the 22 governing body and administrative authority of the 23 municipality at the first regular meeting of the commis-24 sion each year designate others to serve as the munici-25 pality's representatives. The remaining members of the 26 commission first selected shall serve respectively for 27 terms of one year, two years and three years, divided 28 equally or as nearly equally as possible between these 29 terms. Thereafter, members shall be selected for terms 30 of three years each. Vacancies shall be filled for the 31 unexpired term only, in the same manner as original 32 selections are made. Members of the commission shall 33 serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed for 34 all reasonable and necessary expenses actually incurred 35 in the performance of their official duties.

### §8-24-6. County planning commission generally.

1 A county planning commission shall consist of not less 2 than five nor more than fifteen individuals, the exact 3 number to be specified in the ordinance creating such 4 commission, all of whom shall be freeholders and 5 residents of the county, who shall be qualified by 6 knowledge and experience in matters pertaining to the 7 development of the county, who shall include represen-8 tatives of business, industry, labor and farming, and 9 who shall be appointed by the county commission. At 10 least three fifths of all of the members must have been 11 residents of the county for at least one year prior to 12 appointment. One member of the commission shall also 13 be a member of the county commission, the term of such 14 member to be coextensive with the term of office to 15 which he has been elected, unless the county commission 16 at the first regular meeting of the commission each year 17 appoints another member to serve as its representative.

18 The remaining members of the commission first 19 appointed shall serve respectively for terms of one year, 20 two years and three years, divided equally or as nearly 21 equally as possible between these terms. Thereafter, 22 members shall be appointed for terms of three years 23 each. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the 24 county commission for the unexpired term only. 25 Members of the commission shall serve without compen-26 sation, but shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and 27 necessary expenses actually incurred in the perfor-28 mance of their official duties. An individual may at the 29 same time serve as a member of a municipal planning 30 commission and as a member of a county planning 31 commission.

® (3GCIU C) C 641

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee Chairman House Committee Originating in the House. Takes effect ninety days from passage. Todd C. Will Clerk of the Senate Clerk of the House of Delegat President of the Senate éaker of the House of Delegates The within day of ..

Governor

GOVERNOR

1506 出版 -6 1出 9 19 Schallen of this

SEARET VIRGINIA THIS DATE 3/6/86